About MeasuringWorth

There are two missions of this site. The first is to make available to the public the highest quality and most reliable historical data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures. The data presented here on the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia, have been created using the highest standards of the fields of economics and history, and they were rigorously refereed by the most distinguished researchers in the fields. The second is to provide carefully designed comparators (using these data) that explain the many issues involved in making value comparisons over time.

The emphasis on nominal measures distinguishes this site.  This attention is important because to evaluate a past transaction or asset, one must begin with the contemporary value of the item. To make this valuation meaningful, it must be measured against the value of the appropriate economic indicator in that year.  To understand the valuation from another year's perspective, one must carry that measure forward against the changing value of the indicator. The essay Measures of Worth, the Tutorials, and the User Guide are all designed to help you make the best use of the site.

In December 2019, The MeasuringWorth Foundation became the owner of the MeasuringWorth website.

The MeasuringWorth Foundation

The MeasuringWorth Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation incorporated in the state of Illinois. The Foundation is the owner and operator of the MeasuringWorth website. It is responsible for the site's content and long-term survival. The current members of the foundation's Board of Directors are listed below. The board works with the staff of MeasuringWorth to guarantee the operation and funding of the site.

Also listed below is the MeasuringWorth Panel of Supporters, a group that along with the current board have supported the site and its mission over the years. The Panel includes current and former presidents of the Economic History Association, Economic History Society, and International Economic History Association. Economic historians from around the world use the site for research and teaching; all feel this site is a valuable endeavor that must be maintained.

The day-to-day operation of the website remains in the capable hands of Samuel H. Williamson, president of the website and co-founder.

Board of Directors

Jeremy Atack, Vanderbilt University, Board Chair
Stephen Broadberry, University of Oxford
Greg Clark, University of California, Davis
Lee Craig, North Carolina State University
Price Fishback, University of Arizona
Anne McCants, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Joel Mokyr, Northwestern University

Panel of Supporters


Lee Alston, Indiana University
Louis Cain, Loyola University Chicago
Roderick Floud, University of London
Robert Gordon, Northwestern University
Deirdre McCloskey, University of Illinois
Larry Neal, University of Illinois
Lawrence Officer (co-founder), University of Illinois
Leandro Prados de la Escosura, Universidad Carlos III
Richard Sylla, New York University
Jeffrey Williamson,, Harvard University
Gavin Wright, Stanford University

The Staff


Jeremy Land is our Secretary/Treasurer
Dan DeGreef is our Webmaster
Jeffrey Moy is our Research Assistant